You Say Potato, I say “pa-TAW-toh” – Sweet Potato Recipe Feature

by fiber-musings

My husband did a full autumn immersion trip to Trader Joe’s on his way home from work last night. In an effort to brighten up my evening- (mission accomplished), he came home with some of my favorite autumn items: a bouquet of beautiful orange mums, a box of TJ’s Pumpkin O’s cereal and  bag of sweet potatoes. (Quick side note: If you haven’t had Trader Joe’s Pumpkin O’s you need to go get them….now! nom nom nom nom…..)

Anyhow, my husband is the king of buying an ingredient but not thinking of what we will do with it. So I’ve been sifting through some of my favorite sweet potato recipes this morning. Below are a few old favorites, as well as a few new recipes that I am hoping to try this season. Just for kicks, since Baby E is officially eating solids now, I included a link to some great recipes for homemade baby food as well!

Enjoy!

sweet potato 1

Sweet Potato Quinoa Salad with Cherries, Goat Cheese + Candied Walnuts, via Ambitious Kitchen

I LOVE this salad!
I made the following recipe modifications:
I used dried cherries in lieu of fresh, and we used honey roasted pecans in lieu of the walnuts. Also, I didn’t have fresh lemon juice at the time so I substituted orange juice- (the good stuff: high pulp, not from concentrate). Turned out great.

sweet potato 2

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Wedges, via Creme de la Crumb

sweet potato 3

Roasted grape, goat cheese + honey stuffed sweet potatoes, via How sweet it is

sweet potato 4

Collection of great age appropriate sweet potato baby food recipes & nutritional info, via wholesomebabyfood.com

