Monday Meal Highlight – Citrus-Marinated Chicken Thighs

by fiber-musings

Citrus-Marinated Chicken Thighs Photograph by Hirsheimer & Hamilton

Citrus-Marinated Chicken Thighs
Photograph by Hirsheimer & Hamilton

Well, last week it was feeling pretty autumnal, but we are back up into the high 70’s & 80’s this week, so I felt like I should break out one of my favorite summer meals. This recipe is easy enough to become a weeknight staple but tasty enough to serve to guests. I have found it to be a great make ahead meal- We often have this for dinner when I know we have a busy evening ahead. I make up the marinade in the morning and leave the chicken thighs in the fridge soaking up the awesome flavors all day. When Kyle and I are ready to sit down to dinner  they cook up quickly and beautifully.

This week I threw together a cauliflower side that was a great complement, and again, extremely easy:

  • Steam cauliflower, drain.
  • Add juice from half a lime, a small handful of chopped cilantro, salt and pepper to taste.

This was a great alternative to a heavier or starchier side such as a rice dish. I let some of the extra marinade run into the cauliflower and together with the chicken it made a great healthy meal.

I’ve also done this recipes with chicken breasts, in which case I roast them in the oven in lieu of using the broiler. I imagine that this would also be GREAT on the grill. Let’s soak up the rest of these beautiful summer evenings!

via Citrus-Marinated Chicken Thighs Recipe – Bon Appétit.

