Sweet Knitted Baptismal Outfit

by fiber-musings

Baptism Outfit 1We had the joy of baptizing our sweet baby boy this summer and naturally I wanted him to look his best for this special occasion. I come from a long line of knitters and seamstresses and I felt like it would be special to follow their lead and knit Baby E’s baptismal outfit. (Both my brother and I were baptized in hand-made clothing).

I wanted to make something very “sweet” but Kyle felt strongly that our son shouldn’t look “too girly,” so I tried to strike a balance. Additionally, my mom wanted to contribute so we agreed to tag team. I found this great diaper cover and sweater set by Julia Noskova on Ravelry. We agreed that my mom would knit the sweater and I would knit the bottoms. We used Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Baby in “Duck Egg” and crossed our fingers that our gauge would turn out similar. The booties were a bit of an afterthought, I cobbled them together based on a few different patterns that I found on Pinterest. There was significant trial and error involved. I started the first one the night before baptism and could tell it was going to be too small. My mom simultaneously started on a second larger booty and then finished the mate overnight. What a Grandma! See links below for reference.

Baptism Outfit 2 Baptism Outfit 3 Baptism Outfit 4

